The Scary Truth About Shampoo

As gross as it sounds, I haven’t used shampoo in about 2 months.  I recently read a story about using baking soda and vinegar in lieu of shampoo and conditioner and decided to try it out.  It’s true, it works — but you have to be one tough cookie not to miss the soapy lather and sweet smell of store bought hair products.  So for the past few months, I’ve been trying out different versions of shampoo and conditioner recipes.  I’ve had some really greasy days, some dry scalp from hell days and some unconquerable knots.  But the search has now ended — I’ve found the perfect shampoo and conditioner recipes and I’m going to share!

Perfect Shampoo:

  • 1/4 c. Liquid Castile Soap (I use Dr. Bronner’s Tea Tree Castile)
  • 1 c. Distilled Water
  • 10 drops Tea Tree Essential Oil
  • 10 drops Lavender Essential Oil
  • 1 sprig fresh Rosemary (dried would probably work better, but I didn’t have any)
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla extract

There are probably a million ways that you could do this, but I find it easiest to boil the water, add the rosemary and allow to seep (like you would tea).  When the water has cooled, I take out the rosemary, add the castile, essential oils and vanilla and shake.  I like to keep my shampoo in a squirt bottle, either my old shampoo bottle or even an old ketchup bottle (thoroughly cleaned, of course).  The important thing to note is that the herbs must be infused into the water.  This smells heavenly, cuts out the grease and (so far) hasn’t irritated or dried out my scalp at all.  Follow with this awesome conditioner:

Perfect Conditioner:

  • 4 c. Distilled water
  • 1 c. Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 sprig fresh Rosemary
  • 1 bag of Camomile Lemon Tea

I like to brew the tea with the rosemary.  Add the vinegar and cool.  The hardest part of this conditioner is figuring out how to evenly coat your hair.  I think using a spray bottle works the best.

If you’re wondering why someone would bother making their own shampoo & conditioner, consider the amount of waste the average American generates – over 4 lbs. a day.  Since only one-tenth of our trash is recycled, it is no surprise that we fill 64,000 garbage trucks a day.  It’s true, a few meager changes aren’t going to change the world or save the planet from being polluted.  But since 1/3 of all waste generated in the U.S. comes from packaging, maybe it’s an easy place to start.

You know what’s even scarier?  The National Institute of Heath has found a connection between the chemicals in your shampoo and nerve damage.  We assume that the FDA is protecting us from dangerous chemicals.  But the scary truth is that the FDA has more on its plate than it can handle.  It spends practically no money or time on investigating the chemicals found in personal care products.  Many of us worry about the chemicals we consume and feed our children, but we are bathing ourselves and our babies in toxic chemicals daily.  And we’re killing our planet in the process.  I’m sure I sound like a crazy person and anyone reading this assumes I’m finding some obscure hair products that no one ever uses, right?  Well, if you use Pantene, Suave, Clairol or Head & Shoulders, this one is for you.

http://www.naturalnews.com/003210.html

http://www.organicconsumers.org/bodycare/shampoo022105.cfm

http://www.livestrong.com/article/138176-dangerous-ingredients-shampoo/

One response to “The Scary Truth About Shampoo

  1. I don’t want to ever use big brand mass produced shampoo anymore.

Leave a Reply

