Making Laundry Powder

I wash a lot of cloth diapers, which means I use a lot of detergent.  I find that Tide and Bleach work pretty well at disinfecting, deodorizing and stain prevention, but that means that I have to buy loads of plastic and put things that I don’t have a shot at pronouncing on my baby’s most sensitive areas.  This recipe took 1/2 an hour to make, $10 in supplies and is enough to cover me for almost a year.  And even better – all the ingredients came from Dorignac’s…it’s so easy it could put Tide out of business.

Homemade Laundry Powder

  • 3 bars (about 6 cups) grated castille soap
  • 3 cups Borax
  • 3 cups Arm & Hammer Washing Soda

The hardest and most time-consuming part of making this powder is grating the soap.  You could use a food processor, but since mine is on its last leg I decided to grate it with a cheese grater.

Mix it all together and use!  I use 1 tblsp. per load, 2 if it is a huge load.  And don’t forget to use a little vinegar as a fabric softener in your rinse cycle.

Altogether, I spend $10 on supplies.  I made about a year’s supply and still have about half a box of both the Borax and Washing Soda left.

One response to “Making Laundry Powder

  1. Do you have a “repelling” issue with this recipe? I was told this would happen with all “homemade” detergents but most of them contain the waxy ZOTE or FelsNaptha or some other “Bar” soap. This is a liquid so i’d be interested to see what happens over time.

Leave a Reply

