A Yat Goes Green

As a fifth-generation New Orleanian, I’m proud to embody this amazing city.  I am an eater, I am a drinker, I am a member of a large Cajun family, I am a practicing Catholic and I am a Momma.  In honoring these parts of myself, and my city, I am finding that a turn toward simpler living – sustainable, organic, natural living – is working for me and my family.

Unfortunately, of all the great things our city does offer, it has taken some searching to make this transition.  My hope is that in writing this blog, I can share the things that I am learning & maybe even get a little feedback.  I want this blog to blend my own heritage with this turn toward the “green” and make this info more accessible to others.

Here in New Orleans, we believe in the power of faith to transform, we believe in finding a way to preserve the old while adapting to the new.  We have learned that by honoring our heritage and respecting our common love of this great city that we can overcome anything.  It is my hope that as our home faces yet another disaster, we can also pause to consider our contribution by being so dependent on the produced, the manufactured and the gas-powered.  In a city of believers, it is time for us to believe that we can make a difference.  Maybe we can find a way to meld the easy-living we love with the respect that Mother Earth deserves…and support some local Yats’ along the way.

Leave a Reply

